Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

16 Teams Set To Contest Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Tournament

10 boys teams and 6 girls teams have currently registered to compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cups at Rathkeale College, Masterton on Saturday, 17 October. This is the seventh year of the Tournament, which was first played in 2014.

2019 champions Palmerston North Boys’ High School and Manukura will both look to defend their inaugural titles against a strong competition representing six of the Council’s eight member Provincial Unions. The Tournament is once again being hosted by the Wairarapa-Bush Rugby Football Union in the picturesque grounds of Rathkeale College.

The participating teams are:

Boys’ Section

- Aotea College, (Wellington RFU)
- Feilding High School, (Manawatu RFU)
- Hastings Boys’ High School, (Hawkes Bay RFU)
- Hato Pāora College, (Manawatu RFU)
- Lindisfarne College, (Hawkes Bay RFU)
- Palmerston North Boys’ High School, (Manawatu RFU) - (Defending Champions)
- St. Patrick’s College, Wellington, (Wellington RFU)                     
- Waiopehu College, (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)
- Wellington College, (Wellington RFU)
- Whanganui Collegiate, (Wanganui RFU)

Girls’ Section

- Feilding High School, (Manawatu RFU)
- Kapiti College, (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU)
- Manukura, (Manawatu RFU)
- Ruapehu College, (Wanganui RFU)
- St Mary’s College, (Wellington RFU)
- Whanganui High School, (Wanganui RFU)

The Tournament Hand-Book and Draw will be published on this web-site, when available.

Previous Winners of the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Scvens are:

Boys’ Section

2014 : Scots College
2015 : Hastings Boys’ High School
2016 : Hastings Boys’ High School
2017 : Hastings Boys’ High School
2018 : St. Patrick’s College, Silverstream
2019 : Palmerston North Boys’ High School

Girls’ Section

2014 : New Plymouth Girls’ High School
2015 : Feilding High School
2016 : New Plymouth Girls’ High School
2017 : Manukura
2018 : Nga Wahine (Hawkes Bay)
2019 : Manukura

(Published : 05/10/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279