Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

17 Teams To Contest Hurricanes Schools Sevens Championship

A field of 17 teams, from five of the region’s eight Provincial Unions, will contest the 2017 Hurricanes Secondary School Sevens Championship (Boys and Girls), to be played at Masterton’s Trust House Memorial Park on Saturday, 28 October. (Over the past five years, (2011-2016) Rugby Sevens has been the fastest growing sport in secondary schools nationally in terms of participant numbers, according to New Zealand Secondary Schools Sports Council data.)

2017 is the fourth year of the Championship, with past winners as follows:

Boys Championship

2014 – Scots College
2015 – Hastings Boys’ High School
2016 – Hastings Boys’ High School

Girls’ Championship

2014 – New Plymouth Girls’ High School
2015 – Feilding High School
2016 – New Plymouth Girls’ High School 

This year, 2016 defending champions, Hastings Boys’ High School head a list of 12 boys teams, which include Wellington’s St. Bernard’s College, St. Patrick’s, Wellington, St. Patrick’s, Silverstream and Wellington College. Napier Boys’ High School and Lindisfarne College also represent the Hawkes Bay region, while Hato Paora College, Feilding High School and Tu Toa College will represent Manawatu. The Tournament also welcomes Waiopehu College from Horowhenua-Kapiti and Wairarapa College from the host Provinical Union.

In the Girls’ competition, there are currently five teams registered. Four from the Manawatu (Feilding High, Manukura, St Peter’s and Nga Wahine Toa Colleges) and one from Wairarapa (Makoura College), with the prospect of further late entries being confirmed this week. (2016 defending champions New Plymouth Girls’ High School are yet to confirm their entry owing to the Taranaki Condor Sevens Qualifying Tournament being played on 29 October).

A further update on the Tournament Pools and Draw will be made closer to the Tournament Date.

(Published : 15/10/17)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279