Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

2018 Secondary School Knock-Out Play-Offs Underway

The knock-out matches to determine teams to play in the National Top 4 play-off matches in Spetember are underway, with four key qualifying matches to be played this weekend in Palmerston North.

Last weekend, Wairarapa College qualified for the Final of the Hurricanes Co-Ed Cup, by defeating Manawatu College by 38 points to 27 in Levin. Wairarapa will meet the winner of the second Semi-Final which will be played between Feilding High School and Wellington’s Aotea College this coming Saturday (25 August), at Feilding High School.

This weekend also sees the Final of the Rex Kerr Cup for the top Girls team in the Hurricanes region, when defending champions St. Mary’s College from Wellington (the 2018 Wellington Champions) meet Manukura College from Manawatu in Palmerston North in a repeat of last years' Final. (Owing to ground unavailability, this fixture is being played a week ahead of the Co-Ed and Boys Finals).

(St. Mary's College will be aiming for a three-peat of the Hurricanes Champion Title in 2018)

Rex Kerr (whom the Cup is named after) is a Life Member of the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council Inc. and the New Zealand Schools Rugby Union Inc.

(Rex Kerr presents the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup to Horowhenua-Kapiti, 2018 Champions)

In the Semi-Finals for the Hurricanes 1XV Cup, the defeated team from Wellington’s Premiership Final last Sunday at Jerry Collins Stadium, St. Patrick’s College, Wellington travels to Napier to play the region’s highest placed team from the Super 8 competition, Napier Boys’ High School.

In the second Semi-Final, Hastings Boys’ High School, the defending champions from 2017 (by defeating Palmerston North Boys’ High School last weekend), travel to the Hutt Valley to play the Wellington Premier Champion, St. Patrick’s College, Silverstream.

The Finals of the Co-Ed and the Boys competitions will be played in Palmerston North on 1 September

(Published : 21/08/18)




Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279