Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

2020 Hurricanes Provincial Union Representative Season Cancelled

The Council’s Executive Board regrets to advise that, following a decision by the Board of the New Zealand Rugby Union Inc., all national age-group Provincial Union competitions and tournaments have been cancelled. You can read NZRU’s announcement, by clicking here

More specifically, this cancellation covers:

- the Under 16 Tournament, (Don Broughton Shield and Saracens Cup);
- the Under 18 Boys' Competition, (Trustbank Central Secondary School Shield);
- the Under 18 Girls' Tournament; (Hurricanes Cup);
- the Under 19 Seeding Tournament, (Central Region Shield); and
- the Under 20 Development Series, (Hurricanes Cup).

At this stage, the following secondary school programmes* are still progressing:

- the Under 14 Boys Festival;
- the Under 15 Hurricanes Girls' Winter Tournament;
- the Under 15 Hurricanes Boys' Winter Tournament;
- the Secondary School "Top 4" Qualifying Competition, (incl. the Life Members' Cup); and
- the Hurricanes Schools Sevens Tournament.

*Subject to cancellation by NZRU, at any time, given COVID-19 pandemic considerations.

A crisis such as we are experiencing, presents a number of serious challenges for Rugby Union, while also hinting at new opportunities. In considering the future (while immersed in the present), the values of the game in our Hurricanes community must remain paramount.

"Naku te rourou nau te rourou ka ora ai te iwi."

(Published : 31/03/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279