Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

2022 Programme Ends With A Spring Sevens Flourish

The Council’s 2022 programme concluded on Saturday at Gladstone RFC in the Wairarapa, where the annual Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Tournament was played, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush RFU.

The 2022 Tournament, which was first held in 2014, featured only five boys and two girls teams this year, (perhaps reflecting that secondary schools are still struggling to re-establish the momentum of all of their pre-COVID sport programmes).

(Defending boys champions, Feilding High School, retained their title at Gladstone RFC)

The Boys section of the Tournament was won by the defending champions Feilding High School who last won the Tournament in 2020, defeating Palmerston North Boys High School by 24 points to 12 in the Cup Final. The Girls section was won for the first time by St. Mary’s College (Wellington).

(St. Mary's College from Wellington won the girls championship for the first time)

The 2022 Boys Tournament Team is:

- Mosese Palelei – Feilding High School

- Vernon Bason – Feilding High School

- Sam Coles – Palmerston North Boys High School

- Fletcher Carpenter - Palmerston North Boys High School

- Tadhg O’Connor - Palmerston North Boys High School

- Sam Meo – Wellington College

- David Tokalautawa – St Patrick’s College, Silverstream

(There was no Girls Tournament Team selected this year).

The Council’s Executive Board extends its thanks to Cameron Hayton from Wairarapa Bush RFU for undertaking all of the organisational and administrative mahi to ensure that the Tournament was successfully held. (With thanks also to Andy McArthur for the photos used in this report).

(Published: 31/10/22)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279