Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Boys U14 & U15 Winter Tournament Week Events A Great Success

Winter Tournament Week in Wellington featured two marquee events celebrating boys' teenage rugby in the Hurricanes region, with both events hosted and organised by College Sport Wellington, under the experienced leadership of Council Secretary, David Fa’atafa.

Firstly, the Under 14 Festival played at Wakefield Park in Wellington’s Island Bay, featured teams from: Feilding High School, Orewa College, Papamoa College, Rosmini College, Rongotai College, St. Bernard’s College, St Patrick's College, Wellington, St. Patrick’s College, Silverstream, St. Thomas of Canterbury College, Scots College, and Wellington College.

(The 2022 Under 14 Festival featured 14 teams from throughout New Zealand)

The purpose of the Festival is to give young sportspeople the opportunity to play rugby in a non-competition/tournament environment, while providing an opportunity for competitive play, in which the score are kept, but the focus is on rugby camaraderie. As David noted at the conclusion of the Festival, “we know it takes a lot of work behind the scenes to get teams to events like this, so a big thank you to all coaches, managers, drivers, and adult supporters.”

The Under 15 Tournament was won by St. Patrick’s College, Silverstream in a very competitive final in which they defeated St. Peter’s College by 8 points to 3. You can read the final Tournament newsletter by clicking here. As David Fa’atafa noted, “it was great to get the tournament run for the 10th time, especially after a two year hiatus”, (as a result of COVID).

(St. Patrick's College, Silverstream were the 2022 Under 15 Tournament champions)

Feilding High School won the Bowl Section of the Tournament with a 34 points to 10 win over Francis Douglas Memorial College, Gisborne Boys' High School won the Plate Section of the Tournament with 37 points to 6 victory over Rosmini College and Aotea College won the Shield Section of the Tournament, with 22 to 12 result over Ngati Porou East Coast RFU.

(Published : 08/09/22)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279