Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Remaining 2020 Cup Semi-Final Fixtures Confirmed

The fixture details for the two remaining Semi-Finals which will determine the last two finalists for the Life Members Cup (boys) and Rex Kerr Cup (girls) have been confirmed as follows.

Life Members Cup

Wainuiomata High School (Wellington RFU) vs St. John's College, Hastings (Hawkes Bay RFU)

Wednesday, 26 August, 1.30pm, Ongley Park, Palmerston North

The winner of this fixture will play Lindisfarne College (Hawkes Bay RFU) in the Cup Final.

In the ten team Wellington Premier 2 Competition, Wainuiomata are currently in 7th position , with two wins from their five matches so far this season. Wainui defeated Makoura College last week to make the Cup Semi-Final. St. John's College have yet to register a victory in the Central North Island 1XV competition after four rounds. Last week, St. John's defeated Horowhenua Combined Colleges to make the Semi-Final.

Rex Kerr Cup

St. Mary's College (Wellington RFU) vs Hastings Girls High School (Hawkes Bay RFU)

Friday, 4 September, 2.00pm, Awatapu College, Palmerston North

The winner of this fixture will play Manukura (Manawatu RFU) in the Cup Final.

After three rounds in the Wellington Secondary School Girls six team competition, St. Mary's College is unbeaten, while Hastings Girls High School started their 2020 season with a 60 points to 10 victory earlier this month, over Wairoa College.

(Published : 24/08/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279