Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Defending Under 20 Champions Make Strong Start

Having travelled to Rugby Park in Gisborne, the Horowhenua-Kapiti Under 20 side made a decisive statement concerning their intentions to defend the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup, with a convincing 41 points to 13 victory over Poverty Bay. At half-time the score was 22 points to 3.

You can read the Gisborne Herald's report of the match, by clicking here.

In Masterton, at Trust House Memorial Park, Wairarapa-Bush leapt to a 33 points to nil half-time lead, before convincingly winning their match against Wanganui by 57 points to 12.

You can read the Wanganui Chronicle's report of the match, by clicking here.

Both Horowhenua-Kapiti and Wairarapa-Bush will carry maximum points into their double-header matches next weekend in Palmerston North, with their fixture on Sunday 11 August potentially the match which will decide this year’s champion team.

At the conclusion of the Under 20 Development Series on Sunday, the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Team to play Hawkes Bay, Manawatu and Wellington will be named.

(Published : 03/08/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279