Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Finalists Decided For Under 16 Tournament Trophies

Following today’s matches in a sunny, but windy Gisborne, the finalists for the Under 16 Tournament major trophies have been decided. Defending Don Broughton Shield Champions Hawkes Bay finish top-qualifier in Division A, following a 26 points to 17 bonus point win over Wellington with both teams meeting in the Grand Final on Thursday. In Division B, unbeaten Poverty Bay have finished top, following their 26 to 10 points victory over Wanganui. The Tournament hosts will meet the Wellington Development side in Final for the Saracens Cup, who today defeated a valiant East Coast team by 89 points to 0.

In today’s other matches, in Division A, both Manawatu and Wairarapa-Bush scored their first Tournament points, with a 26 points all draw. Manawatu had the opportunity to win the game, being awarded a penalty in front of the posts with time-up, but chose instead to run the ball, losing possession (and the opportunity for the win). The Hawkes Bay Development side faced tough Horowhenua-Kapiti opposition, but evenutally won by 27 points to 12.

The Draw for Finals Day (Thursday), is as follows:

Don Broughton Shield Final (Division A)

Hawkes Bay vs Wellington – 11.30am

Saracens Cup Final (Division B)

Poverty Bay vs Wellington Development – 11.30am

Consolation Finals

Manawatu vs Wairarapa-Bush – 10.00am (Division A – 3rd/4th)

Wanganui vs Hawkes Bay Development – 10.00am (Division B – 3rd/4th)

East Coast vs Horowhenua-Kapiti – 10.00am (Division B – 5th/6th)

(Published : 01/10/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279