Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Four Provincial Unions To Compete In Hurricanes Under 18 Girls Tournament

Teams from Hawkes Bay RFU, Manawatu RFU, Poverty Bay RFU and Wellington RFU will compete in the inaugural Hurricanes Region Under 18 Girls Rugby Tournament (for secondary school players), which will take place in Napier from 9 to 11 October 2018.

The Tournament, which will be played at Napier Boys High School, will include three rounds of matches, with a Finals Day played on Thursday 11 October. The Tournament will also provide the teams with an opportunity to learn more about the professional game.

There are now almost 28,000 registered female rugby players in New Zealand, which equates to a 14.5% rise on last year. It also means the number of females playing rugby in New Zealand has almost doubled since 2012 and from making up just 9% of the total playing base, women now account for almost 18% of all rugby players in New Zealand.

(Published : 25/09/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279