Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hawkes Bay Saracens Excited To Be In Under 18 Competition

Hawke’s Bay Rugby are excited to be re-joining the Hurricanes Under 18 competition with their Hawkes Bay Saracens team playing their first game against East Coast in Napier this Saturday.

Coached by Brent Mokomoko, Tom Hill and Toby Taylor, this squad represents seven Hawkes Bay secondary schools, including a number from the successful Lindisfarne side that are currently contesting the Hurricanes Development 1XV Competition, (the Life Members Cup).

The side includes a number of talented young players who have been the cornerstone of Hawke’s Bay age-group sides over the past few years including Zinny Ropatini and speedy winger Reece Akuhata (Lindisfarne), Mitch McLeod and Caleb Burke (St John’s College) and Caleb Johnson (Dannevirke High School). The squad also includes Wairoa College’s Hugh Taylor who represented the Hurricanes Under 18’s against the Blues earlier in the year. He is certainly an exciting player to look out for.

The 2019 squad is: AKE Taimarie, AKUHATA Reece, ARLIDGE Kurtis, BERGE Zane, BURKE Caleb, CHANNINGS Matariki, CHARTERIS George, DODDS Charlie, DOUGLAS Jordy, DOULL Gabriel, GIBBS Ben, GRAHAM Heta, HORSEFIELD Sam, IRELAND Max, JOHNSON Bailey, JOHNSON Caleb, KA'A Dijzhan, KING Abel, LINDEQUE Ryan, MCLOUD Mitchell, PAKU Jacob, POTGIETER Tian, RODGER Lennox, ROLLS Wharewaiata, ROPITINI Zinzan, SAMUELA Taulagi, SOKOTAUA Pierre, TAYLOR Hugh, THOMASSEN Ben, THOMPSON Art, TUPOU Josiah, TWIGLEY George, VAUTIER Ben, WAHITAPU Hoki and WILKIE Reihana.

The team also plays Poverty Bay and Wanganui in their goal to reach the Grand Final on 21 September.

(Published : 29/08/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279