Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

“Home” Teams Take Bonus Point Victories In Round One

Horowhenua-Kapiti and Poverty Bay were both bonus point winners in Round One of the Hurricanes Under 20 Heartland Series played in Shannon and Napier earlier today. While both “home” teams played away from their traditional home venues, they scored four or more tries, with only Wairarapa-Bush attaining a single championship bonus point by finishing within 7 points of Poverty Bay.

(Poverty Bay achieved a bonus point win over Wairarapa-Bush at Park Island, Napier)

In Napier at Park Island, Poverty Bay scored two converted tries in the first spell before Wairarapa-Bush came to life in the second-half scoring 19 points. However Poverty Bay scored two further tries  which put the result beyond doubt. Poverty Bay’s try-scorers were: Salesi Niavao, Nehe Papuni, James Law and Genesis Tamatea (who also kicked three conversions).

At the picturesque Shannon RFC near Levin, Horowhenua-Kapiti enjoyed a narrow one-point lead (14-13) over Whanganui at half-time, before adding four further tries in the second spell to convincingly defeat Whanganui by six tries to three. Whanganui could only add a converted try to their score-sheet in the second-half. Horowhenua-Kapiti's try-scorers were: Waikato Nepia-Katipa; Ilisoni Rauhihi; Darren Falaniko; Nick Fleming; Ari Hartman and Chris Salu (who also kicked four conversions).

Poverty Bay 26, Wairarapa-Bush 19, Park Island, Napier

Horowhenua-Kapiti 38, Whanganui 20, Shannon

(Published : 31/07/21)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279