Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Horowhenua-Kapiti Reclaim Hurricanes Under 20 Heartland Cup

In a high-intensity match played under overcast skies in Palmerston North this morning, Horowhenua-Kapiti reclaimed the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup from Wairarapa-Bush who won the trophy from Horowhenua-Kapiti in 2019. The previous year, Horowhenua-Kapiti had won the Cup for the first time in nine years, while Wairarapa-Bush’s victory in 2019 was their first in twelve years.

(Horowhenua-Kapiti are the 2021 Under 20 Heartland Series Champions)

Horowhenua-Kapiti took an early 3 points to nil lead in today’s match, which was extended to 13 points by half-time following a further penalty and converted try. Before half-time, Wairarapa-Bush scored an unconverted try and for most of the second-half put Horowhenua-Kapiti under immense pressure inside their 22 metre zone. It took 30 minutes before Horowhenua-Kapiti’s defence was broken, with the score with 10 minutes to play 13-10 in favour of the challengers.

Horowheuna-Kapiti must take credit to their defence in winning the game, the try scored in the last 10 minutes extending their lead and resulting in the final score, 18-10.

On the adjoining field, Whanganui registered their only win of the Series, with a 22 points to 14 victory over Poverty Bay. The score was even for most of the match and half-way through the second-half, the teams were tied at 14 all. However a penalty kick and unconverted try to Whanganui saw the previous winless team secure their first victory in the 2021 Series.

The final placings for the Series were:

1. Horowhenua-Kapiti – 14 points

2. Wairarapa-Bush – 6 points

3. Poverty Bay – 5 points

4. Whanganui – 4 points 

 (Logan Wakefield presented Cameron Bond with the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup)

Horowhenua-Kapiti’s Darren Falaniko from Horowhenua-Kapiti was named Player of the Series and was presented with the Trophy by Council Vice-President, Bridget Belsham (pictured below).

With thanks the team at Palmerston North’s Sport & Rugby Institute for their support and assistance and for today's Match Officials, Ben Koch, Jacob Booth and Will Fish, (pictured below).

(Published : 08/08/21)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279