Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Under 19 Barbarians Conclude Tournament In Positive Mood

Despite losing all three of their matches in the Hurricanes Under 19 Seeding Tournament, the Hurricanes Under 19 Barbarians finished their season in a positive mood in their final match at Massey University in Palmerston North on Saturday.

(The Under 19 Barbarians Team of 2016 following their final match against Hawkes Bay)

The Barbarians, comprising Under 19 Club players from Hawkes Bay, Manawatu and Wellington, played each of these province’s Under 19 representative teams, as part of the Tournament which determines seeding places for the Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Tournament which kicks-off in Taupo this coming week.

While the Barbarians Team is not eligible to compete in the Tournament, the formation of the team provided another group of passionate rugby players to don the Hurricanes jersey and demonstrate their capabilities and skills on the field.

(The Barbarians' Ben Stephens in action against Hawkes Bay, with Zac Donaldson looking on)

The Council's Executive Board would especially like to thank the Coaching and Management Team of Mark Rutene, Lesley McKenzie, Justin Herbert and Paddy Gough for their dedication in bring the team together each week, often with different groups of players.

(Published: 12/09/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279