Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council Programme Kicks-Off For 2016

Many of the Hurricanes Region's secondary-school and age-group players take to the field this weekend, for the first series of representative matches for the 2016 season.

In the National Secondary School Play-Off Series, Napier Boys' High School will host Te Aute College in Napier on Saturday, in the Challenger Match for a spot in the Hurricanes Region Semi-Finals next weekend, while in Palmerston North, the first round of the Under 20 Heartland Development Series will played at the Sport & Rugby Institute.

A feature of next week's draw sees the first Ngati Porou East Coast Composite School Team host Wairarapa College in a Hurricanes Co-Ed Secondary School Semi-Final at Uawa (Tolaga Bay).

The Under 19 Seeding Tournament for the Central Region Shield commences on Saturday, 27 August, with Round 1 of the Under 18 Competition starting on Saturday, 10 September. The Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament kicks-off on Saturday, 17 September.

The Hurricanes regional representative season will continue until Saturday, 15 October, when the annual Hurricanes Secondary Schools' Sevens Tournament will be held in Palmerston North.

Current Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council Title-Holders are as follows:

Hurricanes Secondary School Champions:
Boys' - Scots College, Wellington RFU
Co-Ed - Feilding High School, Manawatu RFU
Girls' - Feilding High School, Manawatu RFU

Hurricanes Under 15 Tournament:
Rex Kerr Trophy - St. Patrick's College, Silverstream, Wellington RFU

Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament:
Don Broughton Shield - Wellington RFUSaracens Cup - Wellington RFU
Manaaki Tangata Trophy - Wanganui RFU

Hurricanes Under 18 Competition:
Trustbank Central Secondary Schools Shield - Wellington RFU*
(*will not defend the title in 2016)

Hurricanes Under 19 Seeding Tournament:
Central Region Shield - Wellington RFU

Hurricanes Under 20 Heartland Development Series:
Hurricanes Under 20 Cup - Wanganui RFU

Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens:
Boys' - Hastings Boys' High School, Hawkes Bay RFU
Girls' - Feilding High School, Manawatu RFU

(Published: 12/08/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279