Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Manawatu & Poverty Bay Find Form On Day 1 In Upper Hutt

The front-runners for the Don Broughton Shield and Saracens Cup have been identified after five fixtures played in the 2022 Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament in Wellington today. In Division A, Manawatu defeated Wellington Black by 36 points to 14, while in Division B Poverty Bay swept aside Horowhenua Kapiti by 61 points to 12. Both sides have secured two wins from two in the competition and lead their respective divisions in terms of competition points, with the final round of qualifying fixtures for Finals Day (on Thursday), to be played tomorrow.

(Wairarapa-Bush won a keenly contested match against Ngati Porou East Coast today)

In today’s other Division A match, Hawkes Bay (the defending champions) were unable to overcome Wellington Gold, falling to their second loss of the competition by 13 points to 20. In Division B, Ngati Porou East Coast fought valiantly against Wairarapa Bush and despite losing by 12 points to 30, lost the ball over the try-line in a number of occasions in the second half of their match. In a Division B non-competition game, Whanganui defeated Hawkes Bay Development by 17 points to 10.

(Poverty Bay have exceeded 50 points against their opponents twice in the 2022 Tournament)

Tomorrow’s matches offer a preview to Thursday’s "Grand Finals" at NZCIS, with Manawatu playing Wellington Gold (who is also undefeated after two rounds of competition), while Poverty Bay will play Wairarapa Bush (who is also undefeated after two rounds of competition) in a non-competition match. All other things being equal, these are the four teams which will compete for the Don Broughton Shield and Saracens Cup on Thursday in Upper Hutt.

(Published: 03/10/22)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279