Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Play-Off Matches Provide Plenty Of On-Field Passion

The three Under 16 Tournament Consolation Final matches played at the Somme Road Stadium this morning, offered those spectators hardy enough to brave the sleety conditions, plenty of action, as the six teams not contesting the Grand Finals played their last matches of the 2022 Tournament.

In the play-off for 5th and 6th place in Division B, Horowhenua Kapiti RFU secured their first win of the 2022 Tournament, by defeating Whanganui RFU by 27 points to nil, after a tight first-half during which the winners were able to score two unconverted tries, to lead by 10 points to nil at half-time.

On the adjoining field, Hawkes Bay RFU Development were able to secure 3rd place in Division B with a 24 points to 18 victory over a determined and much improved Ngati Porou East Coast RFU team. 

Ngati Porou East were competitive in all areas of the game and will be pleased with their performance at the 2022 Tournament, including their first victory, in at least 7 years.

The Division A Hawkes Bay team experienced a succession of narrow losses throughout their four-game campaign, securing three bonus competition points overall. Today, they encountered the Wellington RFU Black side in the play-off for third place in Division A, narrowly losing by 10 points to 15, despite having a dominant role in the game for significant periods.

Reflecting their collective team camaraderie, positive attitude and co-operation throughout the Tournament, Hawkes Bay RFU were awarded the Manaaki Tangata Trophy for 2022.

The Council's Executive Board would like to acknowledge the excellent service provided by the Tournament's volunteer Match Officials and the work of the Council's referee selectors in ensuring that all fixtures were officiated to very high standards.

(Published: 06/10/22)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279