Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Rex Kerr Cup Final Confirmed For Thursday, 24 September

The 2020 Hurricanes regional final for the Rex Kerr Cup, to be played between the region’s top girls 1XV teams, will be played in Wellington at Hataitai Park, Wellington, on Thursday, 24 September.

(Wellington FC will host the 2020 Rex Kerr Cup Final at Hataitai Park in Wellington)

Representing the Wellington region will be St. Mary’s College who won the Secondary School Final against Tawa College earlier this evening at Jerry Collins Stadium in Porirua, by 60 points to 22, following an unbeaten season in the Wellington Secondary School competition.

(Wellington's St. Mary's College are the Wellington Champions for 2020)

From Manawatu RFU, Manukura will be their opponents, having defeated Feilding Girls High School by 64 points to 0 on their way to the Cup Final, also being undefeated in the Manawatu Secondary School competition in 2020.

(St. Mary's College defeated Tawa College on Wednesday evening. Photo: Masanori Udagawa)

Manukura are the current holders of the Rex Kerr Cup, having defeated St. Mary’s College in the Hurricanes region Final by 50 points to 0, in 2019. This year’s Final between the two heavy-weights of secondary school girls rugby in the Hurricanes region, promises to be a competitive and keenly contested match. Council Life Member, Rex Kerr, will present the Cup to the winning team.

Kick-off for the match on Thursday, 24 September, is 12.30pm.

(Published : 16/09/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279