Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

2020 Rex Kerr Cup Title Shared At Wellington's Hataitai Park

In blustery conditions at the home of Wellington’s oldest rugby football club, the Wellington Football Club established in 1870, St. Mary’s College scored in the last five minutes of the match to snatch a hard-fought draw against defending Rex Kerr Cup champions, Manukura.

(Manukura Captain, Kaipo Olsen-Baker and St. Mary's College Captain, Lourdes Faifua)

Given that Manukura had won the Cup in the past two years (defeating St. Mary's College by 50 points to 0 in 2019), while St. Mary's College had won the Cup in the two prior years, perhaps it was "rugby karma" that the title would be shared in 2020.

Playing with the benefit of the northerly breeze in the first spell, St. Mary’s College were unable to convert early possession and territory into points, with Manukura the first to score mid-way through the half. Just before half-time, However St. Mary’s College struck back as the clock ticked-down and with both scores unconverted, the half-time scoreboard illustrated the tight tussle between the sides.

(Photo Credit : Mike Lewis Pictures)

While St. Mary’s College had a bigger forward pack, Manukura were more successful in moving the ball into space, while both teams struggled with retaining and gaining possession in the tackle/ruck phases of the match. In the second-half, Manukura used the wind to good effect, leaving St. Mary’s College pinned-down inside their 22 metre zone, with ongoing pressure resulting in their second unconverted try.

A long injury stoppage took the wind out of a full St. Mary’s College sail, as they retained repeated phases of possession on attack, but at the resumption of play, a charge-down kick near the Manukura goal-line provided St. Mary’s College with the equaliser.

(Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council Life Member, Rex Kerr)

The Cup was presented by Rex Kerr to the winning Captains, with Kaipo Olsen-Baker being awarded the Karaka Café Player-of-the-Final award. With thanks to the Wellington Football Club for their hospitality in providing their ground and club facilities for this match.

You can read Club Rugby's report on the match, by clicking here.

And, you can watch a replay of the match, by clicking here.

(Published : 24/09/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279