Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

St. Mary’s College Win 2022 Under 15 Girls Tournament

Despite losing their opening Tournament match to Manukura, St. Mary’s College completed the 2022 Hurricanes Under 15 Girls Tournament, (hosted by Horowhenua Kapiti RFU at Playford Park, Levin) with no further defeats, to win the Tournament title.

(St. Mary's College were the 2022 Tournament Champions)

In the tournament final, St. Mary’s ran out convincing winners over Manukura by 40 points to 19. The last time St. Mary’s won the Tournament was in 2019, with Manukura being the defending champions having won the Tournament in 2021.

(Cullinane College from Whanganui were one of six participating teams)

Six teams participated in the 2022 Tournament, with the final Tournament rankings being: 1. St Mary’s College; 2. Manukura; 3. Ngati Porou East Coast RFU; 4. Wainuoimata College; 5. Cullinane College; and 6. Wairarapa Bush RFU. With specific thanks to Mataia'a Aleni Feagaiga and the team from Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU for hosting the 2022 Tournament.

(Wairarapa-Bush RFU were one of two Provincial Unions to enter a composite team)

The fiull scores from the tournament are shown below.

Day One
Ngati Porou East Coast RFU 15 v Manukura 12
Cullinane College 41 v Wairarapa Bush RFU 5
St. Mary’s College 19 v Manukura 22
Wainuiomata College 42 v Wairarapa Bush RFU 5
St. Mary’s College 65 v Wairarapa Bush RFU 0
Wainuiomata College 0 v St. Mary’s College 42
Ngati Porou East Coast RFU 32 v Cullinane College 10
Ngati Porou East Coast RFU 26 v Wainuiomata College 24
Manukura 17 v Cullinane College 5
Day Two
Wairarapa Bush RFU 10 v Manukura 46
Cullinane College 7 v St. Mary’s College 60
Cullinane College 5 v Wainuiomata College 12
St. Mary’s College 25 v Ngati Porou East Coast RFU 7
Manukura 52 v Wainuiomata College 10
Wairarapa Bush RFU 10 v Ngati Porou East Coast RFU 30
5th Place 22 v 6th Place 10
Cullinane College Wai Bush
3rd Place 29 v 4th Place 10
Ngati Porou East Coast RFU Wainuiomata College
1st Place 40 v 2nd Place 19
St. Mary’s College Manukura

(Published : 03/09/22)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279