Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Tournament Hosts Look To Saracen’s Cup Final In Division B

Following a Round 2 win over Horowhenua-Kapiti by 48 points to 12 today, Poverty Bay look set to contest the Final of the Saracen’s Cup at the Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament. With Poverty Bay’s match against Wanganui tomorrow not counted for Championship Points, only a defeat at the hands of East Coast will prevent Wellington Development (who defeated Hawkes Bay Development by 48 points to 7 today), from defending their 2018 title against the Tournament hosts on Thursday. In today’s other Division B match, Wanganui defeated East Coast by 45 points to 0.

Meanwhile, in Division A, Hawkes Bay and Wellington have booked their places in Thursday’s Final for the Don Broughton Shield with a round to spare, following Wellington’s comprehensive 50 points to 0 defeat of Manawatu and Hawkes Bay’s similar score-line (68 to 5) against Wairarapa Bush. For all Division A teams, Tuesday’s draw will be a warm-up for the Finals on Thursday.

(Published : 30/09/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279