Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wairarapa-Bush To Host Wellington Centurions In Shield Grand Final

The 2018 Grand Final of the Hurricanes Under 18 Competition will be contested between the two unbeaten teams following three rounds of Pool Play. Both Wairarapa-Bush and the Wellington Centurions have sailed through the preliminary rounds, with Wairarapa-Bush to host the Centurions next Saturday at Masterton's Memorial Park, based on superior points differential.

(Wairarapa-Bush sealed their finals berth with a win over Wanganui on Wednesday)

In Saturday's Round 3 matches, the Wellington Centurions defeated Poverty Bay 57-10 in Napier, the Wellington Community side cruised to victory over Horowhenua-Kapiti at the Levin Domain by 81-12, while the Wellington Samoans were too strong for East Coast, 60-12. Earlier (last Wednesday), Wairarapa-Bush sealed their finals spot by beating Wanganui 36-5.

In next weekend's other Consolation Finals, the Wellington Samoans will host the Wellington Community team (in Wellington), Wanganui will host Horowhenua-Kapiti (in Wanganui) and Poverty Bay will host East Coast (in Gisborne).

(The Wellington Community side had a convincing win at the Levin Domain on Saturday)

The Grand Final for the Trustbank Central Secondary School Shield will most likely be the Curtain-Raiser to the Heartland Championship match between Wairarapa-Bush and South Canterbury.

(Published : 23/09/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279