Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hurricanes Under 19 Barbarians Squad Named

Head Coach Mark Rutene has named a talented and experienced line-up to form the Hurricanes Under 19 Barbarians Team, which will compete in the Hurricanes Under 19 Tournament for the Central Region Shield.

The team comprises players from Hawkes Bay RFU, Manawatu RFU and Wellington RFU and will play matches against teams from each of these provinces over three consecutive weekends, starting on Saturday, 27 August.

The team will assemble for their pre-season Formation Camp at the Sport & Rugby Institute in Palmerston North this weekend, where they will also have a warm-up fixture against the Manawatu Colts.

The team is as follows:


BLACKWELL Adam (Wellington); BRETT Ethan (Manawatu); FA'AMALELE Junior (Wellington); FOUNTAIN Bradley (Manawatu); HAWORTH Adam (Manawatu); HERMANNS Nathan (Wellington); KIMBER Thomas (Wellington); LEALAISALONAA Taisson (Wellington); LEONE Daniel (Wellington); MACDONALD Hamish (Hawkes Bay); OSGOOD Leighton (Manawatu); PARATA Wairangi (Wellington); PINFOLD Ethan (Wellington); SEIULI Ezra (Wellington); WHEELER Scott (Manawatu).


BOSSIN-THOMPSON Quinlin (Manawatu); BREWER Bayden (Hawkes Bay); KEARINS Sam (Manawatu); NICHOLAS Caleb (Wellington); PEPPERELL Josh (Manawatu); REID Sam (Wellington); SIAOSI Hinkley (Wellington); STEPHENS Ben (Wellington); TUISAMOA-PULA Poata (Wellington); WISE Maddy (Hawkes Bay).

Head Coach: Mark Rutene (Wairarapa-Bush RFU). Assistant Coaches: Lesley McKenzie (Wanganui RFU), Paddy Gough (Wellington RFU). Manager: Justin Herbert (Wairarapa-Bush RFU).

(Published: 19/08/16)






Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279