Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington & Whanganui Win Weekend Trophies

Wellington RFU and Whanganui RFU were the two winners of 2021 trophies following matches played around the Hurricanes region today, with the Central Region Shield (Under 19 Competition) retained by Wellington, while the Trustbank Central Secondary School Shield (Under 18 Competition) was won by Whanganui for the first time in the Province's history.

Central Region Shield (Under 19)

In the battle for third place in the 2021 competition, the Hurricanes Heartland team scored a notable victory against Hawkes Bay by 31 points to 27 in Napier.

Leading by 19 points to 13 at half-time, the composite side representing Horowhenua-Kapiti, Poverty Bay, Wairarapa-Bush and Whanganui scored four tries in the match, to repeat the result they achieved in 2017, when they defeated Hawkes Bay by 10 points to 8.

In the Final for the Shield, both teams came into the match with similar records, with only five points separating the teams (26-21) at one stage of the game. Wellington pulled away in the second half to eventually win by a comfortable 20 point margin, 41 points to 21.

(Wellington retained the Central Region Shield in today's Final against Manawatu)

Trustbank Central Secondary School Shield (Under 18)

Following a palindromic 91 points to 19 victory over Horowhenua-Kapiti at Levin Domain earlier today, Whanganui RFU are the new holders of the Trustbank Central Secondary School Shield for 2021. Whanganui were the only side to win all three of their fixtures in this year’s competition, with earlier victories over Wellington Samoa and Wellington Maori.

(Whanganui have won the region's Under 18 Competition for the first time)

Wellington Samoa finished in second place overall, with Hawkes Bay taking third place ahead of Wellington’s Centurions RFC who failed to secure a bonus point in today’s loss. Rounding out the bottom-half of the 2021 competition were Wairarapa-Bush in fifth place, Wellington Maori in sixth place, Manawatu in seventh and Horowhenua-Kapiti in eighth place.

Don Broughton Shield & Saracens Cup (Under 16)

There were four matches played today. In Division A, Wellington defeated Wairarapa-Bush and Hawkes Bay secured a bonus point win over Hawkes Bay. In Division B, Poverty Bay scored 55 points against Whanganui to win their match in Napier, while Wellington Development defeated Hawkes Bay Development in Ashhurst. The final matches to determine for the seedings for the Final fixtures next Saturday, will be played on Wednesday next week.

(Published : 02/10/21)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279