Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington Win Inaugural Hurricanes Girls Under 18 Tournament

In Napier today, Wellington won the inaugural Hurricanes Girls Under 18 Tournament by defeating Hawkes Bay by 24 points to 0 in the Grand Final, while Poverty Bay gained third place by winning 45 points to 3 over Manawatu.

(The Hurricanes Region Girls Under 18 teams at Napier Boys High School)

In Pool Play, Wellington overcame Poverty Bay by 24 points to 10, were winners over Manawatu by 27 points to 7 and also defeated Hawkes Bay by the same score as in today’s Final match.

The Tournament was expertly run by a dedicated team led by Anna Darling from New Zealand Rugby, supported by Krysten Cottrell from the Hawke’s Bay Rugby Union, Marina Canterbury from the Manawatu Rugby Union and Ebony Low from the Wellington Rugby Football Union.

(Published : 11/10/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279