Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington Wins Under 16 Tournament Trophy Trio

The Wellington Rugby Football Union won all three trophies on Finals Day at the Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament which concluded at the Oval, in Gisborne earlier today.

In the battle for the Don Broughton Shield, Wellington took an early 14 point lead before Hawkes Bay swept back, scoring 12 points. Just before half-time, Wellington received a Yellow Card enabling Hawkes Bay to score a converted try and take the lead into the second-half, 19-14. In the second spell, Wellington briefly locked-up the scores before Hawkes Bay scored again and Wellington answered with a penalty. A penalty kicked by Hawkes Bay took the lead of the defending champions to 27-22, however a late Yellow Card enabled Wellington to strike back with converted try to win the match, 29 points to 27.

(The Wellington A team which won the Don Broughton Shield for the 17th time)

In the Division B Saracens Cup Final, Poverty Bay, who had not won the Cup since 2014, struck first, before Wellington Development scored twice, taking a 12 points to 5 lead into the half-time break. Both teams were unbeaten leading into the match, but Wellington Development leapt out to a 30 points to 5 advantage, before Poverty Bay scored a consolation converted try at the end of the match, with the final score 30 points to 12.

(The Wellington Development team won the Saracens Cup for the sixth successive year)

In the Division A Consolation Final, Manawatu edged Wairarapa-Bush 36 points to 31 for Third Place overall, while in Division B, Hawkes Bay Development were too strong for Wanganui, taking Third Place with a 23 points to 5 victory. In the final match played today, Horowhenua-Kapiti registered a 69 points to nil win over Ngati Porou East Coast.

(The Wellington Rugby Football Union won the Manaaki Tangata Trophy for the first time)

For the first time since it was donated by Poverty Bay in 2010, Wellington RFU won the Manaaki Tangata Trophy, for exhibiting the best team culture and spirit at the 2019 Tournament.

(Published : 03/10/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279