Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Westlake Boys’ High Win Hurricanes Under 15 Tournament

Auckland’s Westlake Boys’ High School were the winners of the 6th Annual Hurricanes Under 15 Tournament, earning a 21 points to 15 victory in the Final played against SPC Silverstream, at Silverstream, yesterday. In the Plate Final, Francis Douglas Memorial College (New Plymouth) defeated Manukura College by 21 points to 7.

Congratulations to Patrick’s College, Silverstream’s Cassius Misa (121 points) and Rocco Barry (10 tries) who won the Top Point Scorer and Top Try Scorer awards respectively. Cassius Misa’s 121 points is a new Tournament Record. 

The final Tournament Rankings for 2016, are shown below:

  1. Westlake Boys’ High School
  2. St. Patrick’s College, Silverstream
  3. Gisborne Boys' High School
  4. Scots College
  5. Francis Douglas Memorial College
  6. Manukura College
  7. St Bernard's College
  8. Aotea College
  9. Tawa College
  10. Feilding High School
  11. Bishop Viard College
  12. Mana College
  13. Rongotai College
  14. Wainuiomata College
  15. Tu Toa College
  16. Wanganui High School

Our thanks to David Fa'atafa from College Sport Wellington for his outstanding organisation of the Tournament.

(Published : 04/09/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279