Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wanganui Hosts 2017 Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament

Wanganui Collegiate is the venue for the 2017 Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament, being hosted by the Wanganui Rugby Football Union. Featuring 10 teams representing the region's eight Provincial Unions, the Tournament is the premier Under 16 age-group competition in New Zealand.

Rugby has been played at Wanganui Collegiate School since the 1860's, with 1987 Rugby World Cup winning Captain, David Kirk, counted among the distinguished Old Boy alumni of the school. Current Blues back, Stephen Perofeta is also an Old Boy. Known as the "Collegiate School", the Collegiate 1XV has a proud history spanning over 150 years.

There are five fixtures scheduled for each of Monday (2 October), Tuesday (3 October) and Thursday (5 October), when the the Finals will be played. Full details of the draw can be found elsewhere on this web-site. At the conclusion of the Tournament, a Tournament Team will be named by the regional selectors.

The winner of Division A will receive the Don Broughton Shield (currently held by Wellington), while the winner of Division B will be awarded the Saracen's Cup (currently held by Wellington Development).

(Published : 01/10/17)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279