Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hurricanes Heartland Side Defend Glen Osborne Cup In Napier


In 2022, an annual fixture between the Under 20 Heartland selections of the Hurricanes and Chiefs regions was inaugurated, with the Hurricanes team organised and funded by the Youth Rugby Council, with the support of Hurricanes staff. The teams play for the “Glen Osborne Cup” that honours the former All Black, who represented both the Hurricanes and Chiefs in Super Rugby. (Osborne played for the Chiefs from 1996 to 1998 before moving to the Hurricanes in 1999).

Having won the inaugural fixture in 2022 at McLean Park by 38 points to 24, the Hurricanes side (coached by Darren Larsen) returned to McLean Park on Friday last week, with a record of 2 wins (Whanganui Development and Manawatu Under 19) and 2 losses (Hawkes Bay Under 19 and Wellington Under 19) in the lead-up to their Cup defence.

Captained by Thomas Williams (Wairarapa Bush RFU), the Hurricanes side used pace and width to enable the outside backs to score all of the team’s three tries. At half-time, the Hurricanes side had scored two tries through dynamic left-winger Josh Brunger (Whanganui RFU),  converted by the boot of fullback Max Hosking (Horowhenua Kapiti RFU) who finished the game with personal haul of 14 points (a try, three conversions and a penalty).

Ahead by 14 points to 7 at half-time, Hosking added a penalty goal before the Chiefs side came roaring to take a 22 points to 17 lead with time almost up on the McLean Park scoreboard. The Hurricanes pack camped in the Chiefs line before the ball was released to Hosking who on the left flank of the backline scampered 10 metres to score in the corner. With the scores tied, 22 all, Hosking was able to land the sideline conversion, with the final score 24 to 22.

Hurricanes players were selected from Horowhenua Kapiti RFU, Poverty Bay RFU, Wairarapa Bush RFU and Whanganui RFU. Chiefs players were selected from Thames Valley RFU and King Country RFU.

(Published: 17/09/23)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279