Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Two Of Three Under 16 Trophy Winners Are First Time Holders

Two of the three Provincial Union winners at last week’s Under 16 Tournament hosted in Hawkes Bay will have their names on the trophies they won for the first time in their Provincial Union’s history. While Wellington RFU won their 18th Division A title (and the Don Broughton Shield), Hawkes Bay RFU have never won the Saracen’s Cup since it was first awarded in 2005 and Manawatu RFU have never won the Manaaki Tangata Trophy since it was first instituted in 2010.

(Wellington RFU - Division A Winners of the Don Broughton Shield)

(Hawkes Bay RFU - Division B Winners of the Saracen's Cup)

(Manawatu RFU - Winners of the Manaaki Tangata Trophy)

Congratulations to the three teams for their success in 2023!

Including this year's Tournament, since it was first played for in 1972, Hawkes Bay have won the Don Broughton Shield 23 times, Wellington 18 times, Manawatu 4 times, Ngati Porou East Coast and Poverty Bay 2 times each, while both Horowhenua Kapiti and Taranaki have won the Shield once.

Including this year's Tournament, since the Saracens Cup was introduced in 2005 for Division B, Wellington Development have won the Cup 12 times, Poverty Bay 5 times and Hawkes Bay Development, once.

Including this year's Tournament, the Manaaki Tangata Trophy has been won twice by Hawkes Bay, Horowhenua Kapiti and Taranaki, while Manawatu, Ngati Porou East Coast, Poverty Bay, Wairarapa Bush and Whanganui have all won the trophy once. 

(Published: 30/09/23)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279