Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Central Region Shield Kicks-Off This Weekend

The 2018 Central Region Shield Tournament, proudly sponsored by Karaka Café on Wellington’s waterfront, kicks-off this weekend in Palmerston North and Wellington.

In the first match of the 2018 Tournament, the Manawatu Under 19 Team hosts the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Team on Saturday at CET Arena in Palmerston North, with a 1.00pm kick-off.

Coached by Shane Ratima (a former Otago Maori and Wanganui representative) and Blair van Stipriaan (Coach of Palmerston North Boys’ High School's 1XV), Manawatu meet the side that finished third in  last year’s Tournament, which is coached by the Hurricanes’ Darren Larsen with the support of Dan Cron and Tane Tu'ipulotu.

This weekend’s other match will be played as the curtain-raiser to the Mitre 10 Cup match between Wellington and Otago and Westpac Stadium. The Wellington Under 19 Team (the defending Central Region Shield champions) will host Hawkes Bay, on Sunday at 11.35am, with the match to be broadcast live on 1161AM (on-line at, thanks to the support of Karaka Cafe, and (to be confirmed) simulcast on Hawkes Bay’s Radio Kahungunu 94.3FM.

The winner and runner-up of the Tournament will play for the Graham Mourie Cup at the Jock Hobbs Memorial Under 19 Tournament, while the third-ranked team will play for the Michael Jones Trophy.

The Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Team is ineligible to play at the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament, although members of the team may be selected for the New Zealand Heartland Under 19 Team which participates at the Tournament.

(Published : 16/08/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279