Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Series Kicks-Off This Weekend

The annual Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Series, featuring teams from Horowhenua-Kapiti, Poverty, Wairarapa-Bush and Wanganui gets underway this coming Saturday in Wanganui and Levin.

Three-time consecutive winners, Wanganui, will be looking to re-state their championship credentials when they take on Poverty Bay at home, while 2017 Runners-Up Wairarapa-Bush will travel to meet last year's third placed team, Horowhenua-Kapiti.

The Series features a "double-header" Round 2 and 3, which will be played at the Sport & Rugby Institute at Palmerston North, on 11 and 12 August.

Following the conclusion of the Series on 12 August, the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team will be named to play in the Central Region Shield Tournament, against Under 19 teams from Hawkes Bay, Manawatu and Wellington. Last year, the team finished third overall in the Tournament.

While not participating in the Under 20 Development Series, Ngati Porou East Coast RFU players are also eligible for selection in the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team.

Age eligible players in the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team may be also selected to be part of the New Zealand Heartland Under 19 Team, which will also play in Taupo at the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament, in September.

Full updates on all fixtures will be reported on this web-site.

(Published : 30/07/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279