Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Ngati Porou East Coast Register First Win In 7 Years On Day 2

For the first time in at least seven years, Ngati Porou East Coast achieved their first victory in the Under 16 Tournament today, defeating Whanganui (who defeated them in the 5/6 consolation play-off last year), by 22 points to 19. The result means that the “sky-blues” can finish no lower than fourth in Division B of the 2022 Tournament, with a real prospect of finishing third overall, if they can defeat Hawkes Bay Development on Thursday at the NZ Campus of Innovation and Sport (NZCIS).

Meanwhile elsewhere in Division B, Hawkes Bay Development broke a 24 points all half-time dead-lock against Horowhenua-Kapiti to race away in the second-spell to a 41 points to 24 victory, finishing as third place qualifier for Thursday’s Finals Day. The competitors for the Saracens Cup on Thursday (Poverty Bay and Wairarapa Bush) played a non-competition fixtures, with the Division B favourites from TÅ«ranganui-a-Kiwa easing to a comfortable 33 points to nil win. Poverty Bay in three matches have scored 149 points and only conceded 33.

In Division A action today, Manawatu led Wellington Gold at half-time in the match they will repeat to determine the winner of the Don Broughton Shield in 2022 on Thursday, with Wellington Gold adding 12 points in the second-half to win the match. Thursday’s tussle for the Shield promises to be an epic encounter between two very strong teams. In the other Division A match played today, defending champions, Hawkes Bay fell to their third consecutive narrow loss against Wellington Black, who they will play for third place on Thursday.

Thursday’s matches commence from 9.00am, with the Saracens Cup Final scheduled to kick-off at 10.30am and the Don Broughton Shield Final at 12.00pm.

(Published: 04/10/22)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279