Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington Samoan Schools Win Under 18 Shield

In try scoring feast at Wellington’s Petone Recreation Ground, Wellington Samoan Schools won the Trust Bank Central Secondary Schools Shield with a 46 points to 20 victory over Wairarapa-Bush Under 18.

(The Hurricanes Under 18 Champions for 2016, Wellington Samoan Schools)

Played in excellent conditions on a perfect pitch, the Wellington Samoans leapt out to an early 17 points to 3 lead, before Wairarapa-Bush fought their way back into the contest with a converted try and penalty.

A sin-bin to Wellington Samoan School’s Sam Maiava in the second half resulted in two quick tries to Wairarapa-Bush’s Ryan Hargood and and Aseri Waqa, to narrow the score to 34 to 20, but that was the narrowest the margin became between the teams.

You can read Steven White’s summary of the game, by clicking here.

(El Nino Peniamina fends off the tackle of Fynn Ellmers at the Petone Recreation Ground)

In other matches played in the final round of competition, Horowhenua-Kapiti experienced their first win of the competition against East Coast in Levin, while Wanganui enjoyed their second of the competition in a tight tussle with Poverty Bay in Gisborne.

Final placings in the competition will be confirmed once bonus points are recorded.

(Published: 25/09/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279