Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

SGM Awards Four New Life Memberships

At the Council’s annual Special General Meeting held at Wellington’s SKY Stadium, four new Life Memberships were conferred by the Council’s President, to Tony Bedford, Haig Elgar, Grant Gilbert and Jono Phillips, as noted below. Life Member Rex Kerr accepted the awards from Council President Nick Reid on behalf of Tony and Jono who were unable to attend in person. 

(From left to right, Haig Elgar, Rex Kerr, Nick Reid and Grant Gilbert)

Tony Bedford

Tony Bedford, during his time as Manager of the Hurricanes team and later as Operations Manager of the Hurricanes, encouraged the formation of the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council. He played a key role in uniting the Provincial Unions within the region, promotion of the organisation and the development of elite players to go on and play for the Hurricanes and the All Blacks.

His support was total, by attending Council Meetings and the Coaching School, Provincial Under 18 Secondary Schools Tournament and Regional Under 18 team and by sharing his wealth of knowledge. In a more practical way he promoted the Council within the franchise and saw that the resources of the franchise were available to meet the Council’s needs, wherever possible.

Haig Elgar

Haig Elgar, as CEO of the Wanganui Rugby Union in 2004, was initially involved with the Central Region JAB (Junior Advisory Board), later to become the Hurricanes JAB. Haig was instrumental in forming the Council through the amalgamation of the JAB and the Secondary Schools Council.

He played an important role in the drawing-up of the original Constitution and Rules and Regulations governing the Tournaments, Coaching School and teams which were to come under the authority of the new body. Haig was the Youth Council’s first Treasurer until his resignation from the Wanganui Rugby Union and the Youth Council in 2008.

Grant Gilbert

Grant Gilbert was elected to the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council in 2006 having been involved with the Hawke's Bay Secondary Schools Committee and Central Region Junior Rugby Council. He subsequently served as the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council President for six years. Ashburton-born and an Old Boy of St. Andrew's College in Christchurch, Grant pursued a career in education as a teacher, with his first coaching experience at Teachers College in Christchurch in 1969.

From 1985 to 2015, he was teacher at Lindisfarne College where he coached the College 1XV for 20 of the 31 years he spent at the school. A former New Zealand Under 20s, New Zealand Secondary Schools and New Zealand Under-16 team selector, Grant also coached and selected Central Region Secondary School teams during his coaching career. He has been a Hawke's Bay Rugby Union Director since 1999 and he is the Board's current Secretary.

Jono Phillips

Jono Phillips, following his appointment as Hurricanes Academy Manager, set about working tirelessly with the Coaches and Rugby Development Officers in the Provincial Unions within the franchise region to build a "Hurricanes Family Culture". He worked closely, co-operatively and productively with College coaches at the school, union and at regional levels.

In his role as Academy Manager, Jono actively encouraged the support of the Hurricanes Board for the newly formed Hurricanes Schools Council, in establishing the Operations Committee in 2008. Jono laid the foundations for the manner in which the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council works to promote rugby at the teenage level today and the recognition of talented players.

(Published : 12/07/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279