Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Six Teams Line-Up For Girls Under 15 Tournament

Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU welcomes teams from St. Mary’s College (Wellington), Mana College (Wellington), Rahui Club (Horowhenua-Kapiti), Palmerston North Girls High School (Manawatu), Feilding High School (Manawatu) and Ngati Porou (East Coast RFU), to the Hurricanes Under 15 Girls Tournament, next week.

The Tournament will played at Playford Park in Levin on Monday, 2 September and Tuesday, 3 September, with three 30 minutes games for each 12-a-side team, on each day. Tournament Manager, Aleni Feagaiga from Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU is looking forward to hosting the teams over the two days. You can download the Tournament Draw, by clicking here.

The placings for the 2018 Tournament were: (1) Lytton High School (Poverty Bay RFU); (2) Feilding High School (Manawatu RFU); (3) Kapiti College (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU); (4) Whanganui High School (Wanganui RFU); (5) Mana College (Wellington RFU); and (6) Wairarapa Bush Combined (Wairarapa-Bush RFU).

(Published : 29/08/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279