Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Sunshine, Smiles & Success At Levin's Playford Park

The annual Hurricanes Under 15 Girls Tournament concluded today at Levin's Playford Park, hosted by the Horowhenua-Kapiti Rugby Football Union, (who have hosted the Tournament since 2018).

In the Cup Final, Manukura took an early lead, with St. Mary's College levelling the score (5-5) before half-time. Two converted tries in the second half clinched the title for Manukura, following a competitive struggle between both sides, with Manukura winning the Cup 19-5.

MVP awards were made to: Pua Lesa (Wainuiomata College); Faith Sola (Wellington East Girls College); Ricky Te Pou (Hastings Girls High School); Yael Rasch (Sacred Heart College); India O'Connell (Manukura); Annie Launiivao (St. Mary's College); Kingston Taiapa (Ngati Porou East Coast); Taylah Singh (Aotea College); and Sophie Parker-Cornelius (Feilding High School).

The Tournament Final Placings were:

1 - Manukura, (Manawatu RFU)

2 - St. Mary's College, (Wellington RFU)

3 = Hastings Girls High School, (Hawkes Bay RFU)

3 = Ngati Porou East Coast RFU

5 - Feilding High School, (Manawatu RFU)

6 - Sacred Heart College, (Wellington RFU)

7 - Wainuiomata College, (Wellington RFU)

8 - Wellington East Girls College, (Wellington RFU)

9 - Aotea College, (Wellington RFU)

(Published: 29/08/23)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279