Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Under 16 Tournament A Celebration Of Hurricanes Age-Group Rugby

The Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament for 2017 concluded in Wanganui today, with five exciting matches featuring some of the top rugby talent in the Hurricanes region.

In Division A, Wellington overcame Hawkes Bay by 31 points to 16, while in Division B, Wellington Development were 27 points to 12 winners over Hawkes Bay Development.

In the play-off for third place in Division A, Manawatu prevailed by 23 points to 5 over a resolute Poverty Bay side, in a stop-start affair, after leading 18 points to 5 at half-time.

The play-off for third place in Division B featured a tough battle between hosts Wanganui against Wairarapa-Bush, with the visiting team eventually prevailing by 20 points to 12.

In the final match in Division B, Horowhenua-Kapiti proved too strong against a committed East Coast side, winning their match (and fifth place) by 53 points to 3.

The Refereeing Team (supported by a team of Assistant Referees from St. Patrick's College, Silverstream) performed with distinction throughout the Tournament.

The Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council would like to warmly thank Wanganui Rugby Football Union for their superb organisation and management of the Tournament in 2017.

The Council would also like to acknowledge the Coaches and Management Teams who volunteered their time to prepare the teams to participate in the Tournament this year.

A word of thanks also to the Rector (Ross Brown) and Staff of Wanganui Collegiate for allowing their premises and grounds to be the base for the Tournament.

In 2018, the Tournament will travel to Wairarapa-Bush as Host Provincial Union. We look forward to welcoming everyone to Masterton for next year's Tournament.

(Published : 05/10/17)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279