Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Round 1 Wins To Wanganui And Wairarapa-Bush …

The Under 20 Development Series Champions, Wanganui, scored a late penalty goal to snatch a narrow 30 point to 28 victory over hosts Poverty Bay in Gisborne yesterday.

Meanwhile, in Masterton, hosts Wairarapa-Bush withstood a strong challenge from Horowhenua-Kapiti to win by five points, 39 to 34.

Next weekend, all four teams play a double-header in Palmerston North to determine which of the four teams will be crowned Under 20 Champions in 2017.

The draw for next weekend is as follows:

Saturday, 12 August 2017

Wanganui vs Wairarapa-Bush, SRI Field 1, Amon Rimene (HBRRA)

Poverty Bay vs Horowhenua-Kapiti, SRI Field 2, Matt McEwen (MRRA)

Sunday, 13 August 2017

Wanganui vs Horowhenua-Kapiti, SRI Field 1, Colin Te Pohe (WRRA)

Wairarapa-Bush vs Poverty Bay, SRI Field 2, Jordan Price (WRRA)

(Published : 06/08/17)





Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279