Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington Centurions Successfully Defend Hurricanes Under 18 Title

The Wellington Centurions side have successfully defended their 2018 title in winning the Trustbank Central Secondary School Shield with a convincing 47 point to 12 win over previously unbeaten Wanganui at Cooks Garden earlier today. The Wellingtonians led by 33 points to 7 at half-time, with No. 8 Sione Halalilo scoring the first three tries for the visitors.

You can read Club Rugby's report of the match, by clicking here.

(The Wellington Centurions won a back-to-back title in the 2019 Under 18 Competition)

In the play-off for third place, the Wellington Samoans defeated Poverty Bay by 27 points to 7, while in the other play-off match today, Horowhenua-Kapiti overcame the Hawkes Bay Saracens by 33 points to 10 to secure fifth place in the 2019 competition. Wairarapa-Bush finished in 7th place, with Ngati Porou East Coast finishing in 8th.

(The Wellington Samoan RFU secured Third Place in the 2019 Competition, defeating Poverty Bay)

(Published : 21/09/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279